Great Books Give-Away Contest!

Enter below – there IS no catch – I will not spam you or sell your address – and these are real, live books that I am really giving away.  I promise!

The time is finally here!  I’m giving away the two books I reviewed on my blog earlier this summer: Cruel Harvest, by Fran Grubb, a hardback, and Call of a Coward by Marsha Moston, a paperback.  (Click on the titles to read the reviews.)   Both these books are memoirs by women who bring a godly perspective to a life of confusion and suffering.

God loves stories, don’t you think?  When He wanted to teach us that life is a journey and love means sacrifice, He didn’t say it in the form of prescription or dogma.  He told us stories about rescued slaves lost in the desert, the rise and fall of kings and kingdoms, and the death of an only, beloved Son.  You and I are also proof that God loves a good story.  Each of our lives is a mystical adventure full of conflict and resolution, strange characters and hidden lessons.  Tragedy, mystery, comedy or romance, our stories each reflect some aspect of the Creator’s vision.

That’s why I love reading other people’s stories, and I’d like to read your favorites.  Please think back over some of the best autobiographies you have ever read, and share them in the comment section below by next Friday, September 21st.  Answer this question: What’s your favorite memoir, and why?  (No Bible stories, please.)  I will pick my favorite answer and send you both the books mentioned above (very gently used).  If you live near me, I will hand-deliver them.  If not, I will mail them within the week.  And the rest of us will have a great new list of inspiring stories, so everybody wins – now that’s a happy ending!

Related article: Must-Read Memoirs

19 thoughts on “Great Books Give-Away Contest!

  1. Pingback: Winner of the Great Books Give-Away Contest! « dearchristiancounselor

  2. Forgot about one that both Ross and I read that Jeff recommended: Lone Survivor. It’s an autobiography of a SEAL team member who went into the mountains of Afghanistan with three other team members, but he was the only one to survive. Amazing how God showed himself in every step of this man’s mission and how his family’s faith and prayers affected what happened to him. Wonderful book!!

  3. Just finished an interesting biography/autobiography called “The Kennedy Detail.” It’s the true story of the John F. Kennedy assasination as told by the Secret Service agents who worked with the Kennedys for 3 years. Fascinating to see the dedication these men had towards their job and the guilt they felt when Kennedy was killed. These men became a family due to the long hours they worked together. Wonderful read.

  4. OK, I love biographies too. “The Hiding Place” by Corrie ten Boom is a must read. I even liked the later book maybe better “Tramp for the Lord”. Just finished the wonderful but unexpected heartbreaking “same kind of different as me”, could not finish “unbroken” (I am a wimp). And for some reason Andre Agassi’s autob “Open” and a biography of Audrey Hepburn have been very memorable to me. Is “almost heaven” a fake biography? can’t put it down.

  5. Thanks, Debby. I will have to give Regis’s book a look. Not only fake, but I think “Geisha” was written by a man, wasn’t it? Reminds me of “A Million Little Pieces” which reminds me of “Drinking, A Love Story” and Mary Carr’s “Lit.” So many good memoirs! Why aren’t more people in this discussion?

  6. I, too, love biographies. Many have captivated my attention and drawn me into delightfully unique lives. My current ‘favorite’ is Look me in the Eye by John Elder Robison, who is the brother of Augusten Burroughs, author of Running With Scissors. It is a remarkable front row seat into the life of a child who finds his way into adulthood and, at 40, discovers all of his ‘different-ness’ is called Aspergers. This is Robison’s first book and one would never know it upon reading. He describes with alarming clarity the struggles of life in a world where he not only doesn’t understand the norms, but desperately needs to create his own. He tells of precious childhood days of exploration and learning, as well as horrific events as the child of a severely depressed and abusive, alcoholic father and mentally unstable mother. Although the author does not acknowledge a belief in God, I marveled at God’s hand in his life; directing him to certain people and places. He is brilliant. Writing this required immense courage. He doesn’t seem to hold anything back (including language- be forewarned if that bothers you). You will be amazed what he invented as a young adult! It is a redemptive story of beauty out of ashes. And, it deeply touched this mother of an Asbergian.
    P.S. My last year’s favorite was Unbroken; every American should read it!!

  7. My favorite real latest bio is Regis Philbins “How I got this way” — fascinating reflections on a life that happened because of being at the right place at the right time. And most of our lives fall into place because of that perfect God timing.

    My favorite fake bio is “Memoirs of a Geisha” – so well written it must be real … but it ain’t!!

  8. “Unbroken” by Laura Hillenbrand is the breathtaking and amazing story of Louis Zamperini (sp?) who was an Olympian and then soldier and then POW in WWII. It is a secular book that has been on the NYT bestseller list for a few years now and has a delicious Christian component I never saw coming. (Yay God!) Mr. Zamperini is my hero. I read this maybe 2 years ago and could NOT put it down nor have I stopped talking about it since. 🙂

  9. I love. love, love biographies. It’s really hard to pick a favorite.

    I started to choose Same Kind of Different As Me because I adored that book. It made me laugh, cry and think — my favorite combo. Lots of great stuff I could say about that book and I highly recommend it.

    Yet, I’m going to pick The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls. Her childhood was so horrific and shocking it’s hard to imagine she lived to tell the tale. But beyond her ability to rise above her circumstance and create a different life for herself, her story illustrates how extreme the consequences of untreated alcoholism and mental illness can be. And how people can make really terrible decisions with the best of intentions.

    Jeanette is exceptionally kind in her treatment of her parents in this book. She simply states that facts and does seem to have put some thought into where they were coming from. It doesn’t seem skewed or sensationalized.

    Even though the book is not about faith and she does very little analyzing of her thoughts and feelings about her extreme situation, I didn’t mind. And in fact, I think this allows the reader room to form their own thoughts.

Comments are closed.